A Month of Cloth

As you may know, we started cloth diapering last month. I promised to keep you readers up to date, so, here is my experience (as a stay at home mom) thus far…

OVER ALL: I’m still really happy with my decision. I’ve been using prefolds with diaper covers. And for overnight, I use a pocket diaper, a special fleece lined diaper with an insert, so the bottom layer soaks up the moisture while the top layer stays dry.

LAUNDERING: June probably goes through 8 prefolds and two diaper covers (if she has a stool) a day. I wash diapers and covers together, every other day. So far, it hasn’t really been a hassle. First, I do a presoak for 20 mins. Then I wash on a cold cycle to rinse any poopy residue away. Then I add soap and wash on hot/cold. My diapers ALWAYS come out smelling clean. BUT, the poopy ones usually still have light stains. I’ve heard that setting them out in the sun will “bleach” the stains out, so I might try that. Not to mention, could save on the electricity bill. Currently, I dry them in the dryer on high heat.

DETERGENT: I was using baby Dreft (sold pretty much anywhere) detergent before I did any research. I wanted to see if I could make my own. After reading an article on how important the right detergent is and reading some negative feedback on making my own, I decided to order something else. This week I started using EnviroRite, which is free of Enzymes, Brightners, Dyes, etc, etc. This chart was helpful in helping me make a decision. But, only in the long run will I be able to tell you for sure if it does the job.

JUNE’S THOUGHTS: She doesn’t really seem to favor one over the other. I’ve heard from others, that babies notice the wet feeling more with cloth. But, last week, we stayed with my family at a cabin for the weekend. I decided to buy disposables for space-saving packing purposes (cloth take up a lot of room in the diaper bag!). When we got back home and went back to cloth, she didn’t seem disappointed. Sure, she’s only 4 months old, but, she does let me know when she has a poopy diaper. So, I know she’s aware of what’s on her bottom.

That’s all I have time for right now. Any other cloth diapering mom’s have any tips for stains?

2 thoughts on “A Month of Cloth

  1. I dry mine in the sun during the summer, and hang them to dry inside during the winter. (Although during the winter I usually pop them in the dryer for a short time at first, otherwise they take FOREVER to dry). The sun bleaches the stains right out…it’s crazy! I used the same chart when picking detergent. I have used Charlie’s Soap and Rock N Green and can’t say that I favor one over the other. Glad you’re having success with them!! June is so cute!

  2. I meant to ask about this when we talked as you know I am not a mom but have some cloth diaper experience…sun is best! I also think peroxide might be worth a try for those real stubborn ones.

Leave a Reply

