Knitting for Baby

This chilly, fall weather has gotten me in the mood for apple cider and knitting. While I’m no pro, I do enjoy learning and trying new things with knitting. A few years back, all I could do was knit scarves. Last year, I received a box of patterns by Andrea Tung for Christmas. So I tackled a few of those, including a few pairs of mittens and a few painter’s hats, and this year I’m experimenting with baby accessories. So far, I’ve knitted two Aviator hats from Andrea Tung’s collection: Hats, Mittens & Scarves; one in baby blue and another in pink for a friend. I wish I had an infant to model this hat for me, but this is not the case (…yet), so all you get are these lousy photos.

My mom gave me the book Knitting For Baby by Melanie Falick and Kristin Nicholas that I might pick a project from. There is a really nice pattern for a Cashmere Blanket with cable knit that I want to try. And the book is full of really great how-to instructions and illustrations. I need that!

Then….I really want to tackle the Baby Sophisticate Sweater I found through For Making’s Sake blog. It’s not too babyish, in fact, it’s quite vintage and charming. Author of the blog, Devin, always wows me and inspires me to keep learning and advancing. Maybe someday I will be able to knit that sweet cardigan. Check out her finished product on her little nephew!

What have you been working on? I’d love to see all the crafty projects out there.

2 thoughts on “Knitting for Baby

  1. How fun to knit for your little one on the way! They baby sophisticate is a great pattern, but be advised, it runs small for sure! Thanks for the “shout-out” 🙂 Can’t wait to see what else you whip up!

Leave a Reply

