Healthy Living

Introducing a new topic on my blog today — healthy living. Being healthy and fit has been my plan for the last few years. I didn’t notice the extra weight creep up on me in college and then suddenly I was 30 lbs heavier than in High School. Not to mention out of shape. I’ve been a “runner” on and off since graduating from high school (a decade ago!). More of the off than the on until recently. Life has been packed to the gills with things to do, and exercise was usually last on the list. I’ve been struggling with losing the extra weight (part of it at least) for the past few years. Mostly because I wasn’t willing to commit to a lifestyle change. But, also because I wasn’t educated on how to lose weight. With all the fad diets and get quick gimmicks out there, it’s no wonder we are all confused and frustrated. I finally feel like I’m figuring it out, thanks to many sources. I don’t pretend to know it all, but, I wanted to start writing about my journey on my blog. And hopefully it will keep me motivated to make healthy eating choices and to be active on a regular basis. I’ve lost 8 lbs since February, gained a few back recovering from an injury, and now hope to lose a few more.

Some things I’ve learned along the way:
Being healthy is more important than being Skinny.
Being healthy is a balance of eating right and being active. They work together.
Being healthy is a lifestyle change, not a diet. Commitment and Consistency is key.
Community and Accountability is a huge motivator. Surround yourself with positive people who will motivate and push you.

Included in my healthy living blog entries will inevitably be blurbs about running, aches and pains, and gear. Maybe even a few photos. This might be slightly embarrassing. Check back soon for an entry on footwear.

2 thoughts on “Healthy Living

Leave a Reply

