Inspiration Monday meets Organization

I’ve been toying with the idea of becoming a professional organizer and so I’ve been reading a lot on the subject.  My mom found an article for me to read about right brainers vs. left brainers and how that affects a person in the realm of organizing.  I found out that I’m just about exactly half and half, but  I could have told you that without the quiz. Because I am 50/50, it makes things interesting.

I’ve been organizing and reorganizing my office space trying to come up with something that will really work for me.  I love unique, asymetrical and unusual ways of decorating, but I can’t handle too much clutter or too many bright colors surrounding my work place. Otherwise I am wayyy to distracted. I am also one of those people who keeps a planner and feels lost without it. I have a million sticky notes with lists and reminders to myself.  However, these mounds of notes start to drive me crazy, and then I end up re-writing and re-organizing them so they look nice and neat. CRAZY, I know. But if I don’t write things down and keep them where I can see them, then they simply won’t get done and I will forget about them. That is where my left brain and right brain clash creating an impossible work space.   I need to find my happy medium where things are still where I can see them, but they aren’t an eye sore.

I was bumbling around online trying to find some eye pleasers in the office organizing department. I found a really sweet wall organizer at highbrow furniture, but it costs $350.

I don’t think so.

I found some really great vintagey/rustic looking organizing essentials at the Pottery Barn website.  And it’s more affordable. These cute metal pails come in a set of 3 for only $15. And you could probably find the same thing at a discount garden center for less.

To coordinate with the pails, they have a burlap “cork” board with metal horizontal rods to keep papers and other flat objects secure and a hanging pouch for smaller items or extra push pins. Unfortunately, it’s $199, but I bet I could make one myself for a lot less.

I love how old fashioned a chalk board is.  There’s something more fun about using chalk than dry erase markers.  Plus they don’t smell.

These might not fit every need I have, but, I think they’re beautiful and simple.  I’m curious to see what works for your home organization. Are there any amazing, budget accessories I need to know about?

2 thoughts on “Inspiration Monday meets Organization

  1. this is perfect, I’ve been trying to figure out how to organize my office since I just got a new desk. Thanks for the tips! I like the chalkboard idea!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Inspiration Monday meets Organization « Maren Layne Design: Simple & Pretty -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

