Books, Books & More Books

I love books. If there’s one thing I feel like I can justify collecting, it’s books. Especially ones with pretty covers.  But we’ll get to that shortly.

Today is my birthday. I took the day off work so I could enjoy turning 28.  I woke up to three text messages (thanks bro for waiting until 6am!) and too many facebook notifications to count. I felt very loved. My two very good (you could say best) out of state/out of country friends even called me on the phone! I am not a big phone conversationalist, but, this was very special to me.  I love you Britty and Kitty.

My twin sis (if you didn’t know I had one by now) and I met up for breakfast (thank you, Trader Joe’s), half-price-book shopping, Chai (thank you Cosmic Coffee), and a stop at Patina.  I found THE BEST DEALS at Half Price Books and I’m so excited that I have to share my finds with you!


Among my good finds are books 5 & 6 of the Anne of Green Gables series: Anne of Ingleside & Anne’s House of Dreams; Organizing From the Inside Out, Old-Time Vinegar, Garlic, Baking Soda, and 101 More Problem Solvers, and Martha Stewart’s Good Things For Organizing.

I also found one of these two AMAZING 1943 Random House Publishing books. Dena had found Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte earlier and gave it to me for my birthday. Then today, we found it’s mate, Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte today for a mere $2.00.

Isn’t this detail lovely?

I am absolutely in love with these nastalgic classics. They have beautiful wood engraved illustrations as the cover, and throughout the book, telling it’s story. Illustrations by Fritz Eichenberg. Love, love, love these treasures.

Tonight, my In-Laws are taking my husband, Darin, and I out to eat at one of my fav restaurants. My stomach is already growling in anticipation. Thanks to everyone who has wished me Happy Birthday today.

3 thoughts on “Books, Books & More Books

  1. wow – those are good finds. i recently discovered a fantastic classic jane eyre at a thrift store and shared your joy 🙂 happy belated birthday! it sounds like a good one!

Leave a Reply

